“I don’t believe a word that comes out of his mouth.”

Peggy Noonan, columnist for The Wall Street Journal and Special Assistant had this to say today about BDS – “Bush Derangement Syndrome”:

American Grit
We can’t fire the president right now, so we’re waiting it out.

Friday, July 13, 2007 12:01 a.m. EDT
It’s been a slow week in a hot era. I found myself Thursday watching President Bush’s news conference and thinking about what it is about him, real or perceived, that makes people who used to smile at the mention of his name now grit their teeth. I mean what it is apart from the huge and obvious issues on which they might disagree with him.

I’m not referring to what used to be called Bush Derangement Syndrome. That phrase suggested that to passionately dislike the president was to be somewhat unhinged. No one thinks that anymore. I received an email before the news conference from as rock-ribbed a Republican as you can find, a Georgia woman (middle-aged, entrepreneurial) who’d previously supported him. She said she’d had it. “I don’t believe a word that comes out of his mouth.” I was startled by her vehemence only because she is, as I said, rock-ribbed. Her email reminded me of another, one a friend received some months ago: “I took the W off my car today,” it said on the subject line. It sounded like a country western song, like a great lament.

To read the rest of her column, click here.

Yes folks – W now stands for “When.

    Leave a Reply

